Home Blogs Smallest countries in Africa

Smallest countries in Africa

0 comment 376 views
Smallest countries in Africa
Smallest Countries in Africa

There are seven continents in the world. Africa is one of them. In this blog post, we have discussed the top 10 Smallest countries in Africa. There are 54 countries in Africa. The smallest country in Africa is Seychelles. While Algeria is the largest.

Africa is the Worldโ€™s second-biggest and most populated continent after Asia. Most of the African countries are not situated on the land. The majority of the smallest countries of Africa is an island country that is spread out in the Atlantic and Indian oceans. Therefore, the top 5 smallest countries are island countries and the smallest island country is Seychelles. The smallest country of land in Africa is the Gambia.

Nothing special of the countries is so famous or touristic as the wealthiest countries in Africa but all of them are beautiful and must be discovered once in a life.


Top 10 Tiniest countries in Africa

S.NOCountries NameArea in Sq. kmArea in Sq. mi
01Seychelles ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡จ451 km2174 sq. mi
02Sao Tome and Principe ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡น964 km2372 sq. mi
03Mauritius ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡บ2,040 km2788 sq. mi
04Comoros ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฒ2,235 km2863 sq. mi
05Cape Verde ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ป4,033 km21,557 sq. mi
06The Gambia ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ10, 380 km24,008 sq. mi
07Eswatini Swaziland ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฟ17,364 km26,704 sq. mi
08Djibouti ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฏ23,200 km28,958 sq. mi
09Rwanda ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ผ26, 798 km210, 347 sq. mi
10Burundi ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฎ27,830 km210, 745 sq. mi
Top 10 Tiniest countries in Africa

1. Seychelles ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡จ 451 km2

Seychelles is an island country and the smallest country in East Africa. It is consisting of 115 beautiful islands. The capital city of Seychelles is Victoria. The dialing code is +248 and the currency is the Seychellois rupee (SCR). Its population is about 98,462 according to the census of 2020.

Seychelles (The smallest country in Africa)
Seychelles (The smallest country in Africa)

2. Sao Tome and Principe ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡น 964 km2

Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Prรญncipe is an African island country that is close to the equator. The capital city is Sรฃo Tomรฉ. The dialing code is +239 and the currency is Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Prรญncipe dobra. The population of Sao Tome and Principe is about 219,161 according to 2020.

Sao Tome and Principe
Sao Tome and Principe

3. Mauritius ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡บ 2,040 km2

Mauritius is an island country located in East Africa. It is well-known for its beaches, bays, and reefs. It is also known for its mountainous region comprises the Black river, Gorges National Park, forests, waterfalls, hiking or trekking trails, and wonderful wildlife like the flying monkey.

The capital city of Mauritius is Port Louis. The dialing code is +230 and the currency is the Mauritian rupee. Mauritius’s population is about 1.266 million in 2020.


4. Comoros ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฒ 2,235 km2

Comoros is an island country too. It is located in East Africa. The famous active volcano Mountain Karthala Volcano and famous for its beautiful beaches. Comoros is consists of three islands.

The capital city of Comoros is Moroni. The dialing code is +269 and the currency is the Comorian franc. The population is 869,595 in 2020.

The largest city of Comoros is Moroni. Comoros has only two seasons. The winter season and summer season.


5. Cape Verde ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ป 4,033 km2

The official name of Cape Verde is the Republic of Cabo Verde. It is also an island country located in the central Atlantic Ocean in Africa.

The capital of Cape Verde is Praia. The dialing code is +238 and the currency is Cape Verdean escudo. The population is about 555,988 as of 2020.

The capital city of Praia has direct flights from international destinations such as France, Portugal, and the United Kingdom.

Cape Verde
Cape Verde

6. Gambia ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ 10, 380 km2

The Gambia is a small mainland country located in West Africa. The Gambia is surrounded by Senegal with a slim Atlantic coastline. It is famous for its diverse wildlife which includes monkeys, leopards, hippos, hyenas, and some rare birds. The country is divided by the Gambia River.

The capital city of the Gambia is Banjul. The dialing code is +220 and the currency is Gambian dalasi. Its population is 2.417 million as of 2020.

The Gambia

7. Eswatini Swaziland ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฟ 17,364 km2

The official name of Eswatini is the Kingdom of Eswatini and was previously named Swaziland in English. It is located in Southern Africa. It has a border with Mozambique to its northeast and South Africa to its north, west south, and southeast.

There are two capital cities of Eswatini is Mbabane and Lobamba. The dialing code is +268 and the currency is South African rand, Swazi lilangeni. The population of Eswatini is 1.16 million as of 2020.

Eswatini is previously known as Swaziland. It is the second smallest country in mainland Africa. It changed the name from Eswatini from Swaziland in 2018 because of a break from the Colonial part and confusion between Switzerland and Swaziland.

Eswatini Swaziland
Eswatini Swaziland

8. Djibouti ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฏ. 23,200 km2

Djibouti is located in East Africa in the Horn of Africa. It is mostly a French and Arabic-speaking country of drylands. The nomadic Afar people live along with Lake Abbe in the Danakil desert. Djibouti is very gorgeous wildlife, scenic spots, sightseeing, tradition, and culture. ย The third-smallest country in Africa. Djibouti is surrounded by Ethiopia in the southwest, Somaliland in the south, Eritrea in the north, the Gulf of Aden, and the Red Sea in the East.

The capital city of Djibouti is Djibouti City. The dialing code is +253 and the currency is the Djiboutian Franc. The population of Djibouti is about 988,002 as of 2020.


9. Rwanda ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ผ 26, 798 km2

Rwanda is the name of thousands of hills. Rwanda is an African country located in East Africa. The official name is the Republic of Rwanda. It is a non-coastal or land-locked country in the Great Rift Valley. There is the Great Lakes region and the touch of East Africa. It is a few degrees from south of the equator. Rwanda is surrounded by Uganda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo).

The capital city of Rwanda is Kigali. The dialing code is +250 and the currency is the Rwandan franc. The population of Rwanda is 12.95 million as of 2020. Rwanda Air is a national airline of Rwanda.


10. Burundi ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฎ. 27,830 km2

The official name of Burundi is the Republic of Burundi. It is a land-locked country like Rwanda. It is located in the Great Rift Valley where the African Great Lakes region is located in East Africa.

The capital city of Burundi is Gitega. The dialing code is +257 and the currency is the Burundian franc. The population of Burundi is 11.89 million as of 2020. The literacy rate is about 68%.


Also, check List of African countries by area

You may also like

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.